Against an ‘inclusive’ Church – My letter to the Vicar of St Wulframs 

Dear Fr Stuart, 
Firstly, let me express the wish that you are well. It has been some time since we last had the chance to correspond. I am pleased to say I am back in Grantham and hope to attend St Wulframs as soon as I can and I would to take this opportunity to thank you for the excellent pastoral care you provided me with during my brief time in Grantham last time around. 
My faith is still strong and I have been attending churches in Shefford and Deeping wherever possible, however, it would be misleading to say I am not deeply concerned about the current direction of travel that the Church of England and its leadership is taking – indeed, I feel that the deeper my faith grows in many ways the greater my animus towards the Church establishment.

I am referring towards the general trend towards a licentious attitude to sexuality generally and the issue of same sex marriage, transgenderism etc that seems to be creeping in aided by a leadership that seems to equivocate on these matters in a totally self serving manner. It seems more concerned with the maintenance of an ultimately false unity for the sake of maintaining its own temporal power.

I view these matters rather simply, Gods Word is inerrant therefore the order of creation established in Genesis 1-2 is immutable and therefore the later divinely dictated Laws against homosexual practice etc are entirely consistent with this order of creation and to contradict that is to speak against God Himself and claim he is wrong.

Maybe you will say that the new covenant established through Jesus voids these laws. However, this simply cannot be the case, if it was why did the Apostle Paul have this to say:

“For you maybe sure of this, that everyone who is sexually immoral or impure or who is covetous (an idolater) has no inheritance in the kingdom of Christ and God”

Ephesians 5:5

If sexual immorality is now OK then Paul’s injunction makes no sense. Homosexual practice is rightly described as an abomination (Leviticus 18:22 & 20:13) and Paul makes a specific injunction against it Romans 1:18-32 and sees that it is a deep seated rebellion against God which it is and as I have shown this is entirely consistent with the very beginning of the Bible so the logical progression of this revelation of God’s Law is totally consistent with everything Scripture tells us is true. One man, one woman, this is the way of things, how God wills it and anyone who disagrees is at variance with the Word of the Lord.

I understand the injunction to love the sinner and hate the sin but let’s be clear we are to hate the sin. I see that St Wulframs is making a drive towards being an “inclusive” Church and again this is a cause for concern because the clear implication that sinners are welcome to bring their sin through the doors and that it is then allowed into the Church unrepented of and therefore still sin. I do not see how this can be anything other than offensive to God. It brings to mind the orgy at Shittim described in Numbers 25 and the particularly horrific example of the Israeli man and Midinite women and frankly parading and flaunting our sin in House of God is as offensive and profane as the actions of the two individuals in this story.

You cite the example of our Lord Jesus Christ however a careful examination of his ministry does not commend this inclusiveness. For example, in John 8:11 Jesus does not condemn the women but he also commands her to “sin no more” therefore we can rightly discern that the women, had she subsequently carried on sinning would face the condemnation of our Lord. So, the inclusiveness of the ministry of Jesus was conditional upon repentance and future better behaviour. This is in fact confirmed in the very same Gospel in John 9:41.

Where therefore is the spiritual leadership in this inclusivity? Where is the call to repentance? Where is the call for people to become disciples of Christ seeking to follow his perfection and therefore enjoy the intimacy of his relationship with our Heavenly Father? This is the leadership I would expect from you for our brothers and sisters and in the wider Church, challenging it as it careers down the broad path towards damnation.

God called me to the Church of England for a reason but I am sure it was not to endure this, to watch the self immolation of His Holy Church under a frankly corrupt leadership and the Spirit within me cringes and curls every time I enter a C o E Church and if this continues unchallenged then I will have no hesitation in finding a new Church where faithfulness to Scripture and therefore to God takes precedence over a desire to please the world.

I would like the opportunity to discuss these issues with you further.

Yours in Christ

Darrell Goodliffe

Leave a Reply

